The longest journey begins with…

“Remember what Bilbo used to say: It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to…”

So here I am. Of course it’s late at night on my week off – when else would an insomniac like me be typing at my home computer? I cannot believe that I’ve actually started writing anything, especially after I’ve just spent a couple of hours fiddling with the virtual theme and visuals.

To be honest, I didn’t ever think I’d be one of ‘those’ people – the kind that either has the time or the desire to post about their life for the whole world (i.e. family, friends, colleagues, congregants, stalkers and my mother) to read. But when I was asked by a highly respected congregant why I wouldn’t create a Blog, especially when so many recently ordained Rabbis already had (thanks guys!), I couldn’t muster a single decent reason why not. So here it is, my Blog – a place for me to share my experiences, thoughts, readings, passions and frustrations with anyone who wants to have a conversation.

I’m not really sure what I’ll Blog about. I guess there’ll be some sermons, diary entries, rants, questions, media links, photos, reviews and anything else that crosses my path in my day-to-day life as I attempt to juggle the hats I wear as a Rabbi, relative and PhD student alongside dabbling in social and equality activism.

The journey ahead feels uncertain (and, should we both stay the course, it will be hard to hide that I’m not a great fan of uncertainty) but I do hope, at the very least, that I haven’t given up on this thing by Pesach [Passover]. Oh well, only time will tell…

In the meantime, thanks for reading. I’ve walked through my virtual door and the journey’s now begun, so I’ll try to keep you posted.

About rabbidavidmitchell

Rabbi David Mitchell is a Rabbi at Radlett & Bushey Reform Synagogue
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

